The four drivers nominated as official ‘Freshmen’ for the official FIA WEC take a look at session at Bahrain World Circuit on Sunday 15 December own this day been presented. 

Selected by the Promoter and Organiser of the FIA World Patience Championship for their exemplary efficiency, traipse talents and dedication, the young drivers will abilities at the least 30 laps within the cars of the four class Champions from the 2018-2019 Trim Season.

Leading the trend will be newly topped FIA System 2 Champion Nyck de Vries who will salvage his first abilities of 1000 bhp within the Toyota TS050 HYBRID. The 24-year-weak Dutchman has been competing within the WEC with Racing Crew Nederland in LMP2 and richly deserves the different to model the LMP1 strength and efficiency of the novel FIA World Patience Champions, Toyota Gazoo Racing.

Driving the LMP2 championship successful Signatech Alpine A470-Gibson will be recent European Le Mans Series LMP3 ideas leader Mikkel Jensen.  Also 24, the Danish driver has been excellent this season, successful thrice from 5 races and a steady authorized for championship honours. 

The Netherlands has confirmed to be fertile ground for young racing abilities, as demonstrated by the sequence of the third Rookie driver.  Job van Uitert (20) has begun his endurance profession in a terrific manner, competing in both the WEC and ELMS, and the novel LMP2 sizzling-shot will develop his endurance racing horizons by experiencing the Porsche 911 RSR-19 of FIA World GT Championship winners, Porsche GT Crew.  Plenty of the tip LMP drivers will attest that first-hand recordsdata of GT equipment brings a priceless part to a driver’s armoury of talents in multi-class racing.  

The last note official rookie is 24-year-weak Vincent Abril who will abilities the Porsche 911 RSR of LMGTE Am class winner and 24 Hours of Le Mans 2019 victor, Crew Project 1.  The Frenchman bought his first model of world championship racing at the Trim Finale to the Trim Season and will make his Season 8 debut within the 4 Hours of Shanghai this November with Dempsey-Proton Racing.  Skilled and successful in other sports vehicle championships, Abril will profit from seeing the WEC at its handiest in Bahrain. 

Every of the four “Rookie” drivers will be awarded at the least 30 laps all around the take a look at day, with the 5 hours of observe time also accessible to other WEC competitors may perhaps seemingly perhaps seemingly also nonetheless they like to be taught from the different to safe in thoughts ability drivers for the 2020-2021 season.

Pierre Fillon, President of the Vehicle Membership de l’Ouest:  “The ACO, thru the World Patience Championship and our continental sequence in Europe and Asia, has a steady history in encouraging and promoting young abilities, and we congratulate Nyck, Mikkel, Job and Vincent for being chosen for this rookie take a look at.  Here’s a terrific different for these up and coming young drivers to demonstrate off their skill, determination and professionalism to groups representing among the arena’s main vehicle manufacturers, Toyota, Porsche and Alpine. We are delighted as a method to open doorways for these four drivers and now they’ve to struggle thru them in basically the most convenient method likely!”

Gérard Neveu, CEO of the World Patience Championship:  “It has been very rewarding to peer the growth of our ‘freshmen’ from previous years, and the ideal example of right here’s Thomas Laurent, now a Toyota Gazoo Racing reserve driver after first testing the LMP1 vehicle in Bahrain in December 2017. Patience racing provides long and successful racing careers for folk that take it, as has been demonstrated by the presence of so many high names within the WEC.”

An entry listing for the official Rookie Test, which takes dwelling the day after the 8 Hours of Bahrain, will be released within the raze.  The sessions at Bahrain World Circuit on Sunday 15 December will be from 10h00 to 12 Midday, and from 13h00 to 16h00.

Like it? Share with your friends!



Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *