WRC – 2019 FIA World Rally Championship Rally de España – Preview


The penultimate spherical of the 2019 FIA World Rally Championship season, Rally de España (October 25-27) provides a real arena because the most animated combined-ground tournament on the calendar. 

The first day of the Salou-primarily based rally shall be mostly held on gravel roads sooner than the mechanics purchase centre-stage throughout a longer than frequent evening provider, as they’re going to drag to convert the automobiles to asphalt specification for the remainder two days. Following this overnight alternate, the drivers will possess to shortly adapt to the immediate and sweeping sealed ground, which is generally as compared with a drag circuit in its traits.

After his victory on Rally GB, Toyota’s Ott Tänak comes to Spain with a 28-point lead over his nearest rival in the drivers’ standings, Citroën driver Sébastien Ogier. The Estonian is upright a step a ways from glory as a glean in Spain would give him a maiden World Champion title. Hyundai’s Thierry Neuville also stays in competitors, alternatively the Belgian holds a deficit of 41 solutions to Tänak. The wrestle is mighty nearer in the producers’ championship, where Hyundai leads Toyota by upright eight solutions.

2018 Rally de España winner Sébastien Loeb returns to WRC circulation for his first open since Portugal on the starting of June, alongside Spanish favorite Dani Sordo, who completes the Hyundai line-up at his home tournament. Jap driver Takamoto Katsuta drives a fourth Toyota Yaris WRC, entered by Tommi Mäkinen Racing, for the 2nd time following his convincing debut in Germany.

The newly-topped champion Kalle Rovanperä heads the FIA WRC 2 Pro discipline, with his Škoda personnel-mate Jan Kopecký, M-Sport driver Gus Greensmith and Citroën’s Mads Østberg now combating for the runner-up space.

The tip seven drivers in the FIA WRC 2 standings will all be in circulation as allotment of  a formidable 19-automobile discipline, with Pierre-Louis Loubet defending his lead against rivals Benito Guerra, Kajetan Kajetanowicz and Nikolay Gryazin. Spain’s rising neatly-known particular person Jan Solans will step as a lot as WRC 2 on his home rally, most animated a pair of weeks after his triumph in the FIA Junior WRC Championship, and could maybe compete against his brother Nils, the 2017 FIA Junior WRC champion.


Since 2002 the tournament has been primarily based in the Costa Dorada resort of Salou, 110 kilometres south of Barcelona, where the ceremonial open will purchase space on Thursday evening. Friday’s gravel leg includes two loops of three levels at the side of the longest of the tournament, the 38.85 kilometre “La Fatarella –Vilalba” velocity take a look at with a total lot of asphalt sections. After the fleshy swap to asphalt, Saturday takes the crews to the north for a repeated loop of three levels, sooner than an evening stage on the Salou seafront. Sunday facets two levels trek twice, at the side of “La Mussara”, which is visited for the first time since 2014 and could maybe serve because the rally-ending Power Stage.


Total distance1.288.85 km
Stage distance:325.56 km (25.26%)
Replacement of levels:17


The Accreditation Desk is positioned at PortAventura World, Convention Centre (Av. Alcalde Pere Molas Km. 2, 43480 Vila-Seca – Salou).

The opening hours are: 

Tuesday 22 October: 14: 00 – 20: 00
Wednesday 23 October:08: 00 – 20: 00
Thursday 24 October: 08: 00 – 20: 00
Friday 25 October:07: 30 – 14: 00


Wednesday 23 October 
Needed media safety briefing, Photographers’ Room, Media Center17: 00 hrs
Thursday 24 October 
Needed Shakedown for P1 & P2P, Salou space09: 00 – 10: 30 hrs
Shakedown for all Priority drivers (P1, P2P, P2), Salou space10: 45 – 12: 45 hrs
Shakedown (others), Salou space13: 00 – 14: 30 hrs
‘Meet the Crews’ Top 3 Shakedown, Michelin stage, PortAventura SP13: 15 hrs
FIA Press Convention, Press Room, Media Center, HQ Convention Centre14: 00 hrs
Starting up with P2P & P2 drivers (10’) 
Followed by P1 drivers (10’) 
Autograph signing session for P1 crews, Salou, Passeig Jaume 118: 00 – 18: 30 hrs
Household photograph with authorities & P1 crews, Salou, Passeig Jaume 118: 40 hrs
Ceremonial open, Podium, Salou, Passeig Jaume 119: 00 hrs
Friday 25 October 
Launch of Piece 1, PortAventura SP08: 00 hrs
First automobile arrives for regroup, media zone & provider, PortAventura SP13: 08 hrs
First automobile arrives for regroup, media zone & final provider, PortAventura SP19: 41 hrs
‘Meet the Crews’ post-Leg 1, Michelin stage, PortAventura SPFor the period of the 45’ provider
Saturday 26 October 
Launch of Piece 3, PortAventura SP07: 30 hrs
First automobile arrives for regroup, media zone & provider, PortAventura SP12: 00 hrs
First automobile arrives to regroup after SS12, Salou17: 12 hrs
First automobile arrives for media zone, regroup & final provider, PortAventura SP17: 50 hrs
‘Meet the Crews’ post-Leg 2, Michelin stage, PortAventura SPFor the period of the 45’ provider
Sunday 27 October 
Launch of Piece 6, PortAventura SP07: 30 hrs
First automobile arrives for regroup, media zone & provider, PortAventura SP09: 38 hrs
First automobile arrives for Regroup after SS16, Les Borges del Camp11: 25 hrs
Rally Perform, TC17D sooner than Podium Salou, Passeig Jaume 114: 01 hrs
Podium Ceremony & Mark Giving, Podium Salou, Passeig Jaume 1From 15: 00 hrs
FIA Press Convention, Press Room, Media Center, HQ Convention Centre16: 00 hrs


Thursday 24 OctoberFIA WRC
 Ott TÄNAK (EST), Toyota Gazoo Racing World Rally Group
 Sébastian OGIER (FRA), Citroën Total World Rally Group
 Dani SORDO (ESP), Hyundai Shell Mobis World Rally Group
 Elfyn EVANS (GBR), M-Sport Ford World Rally Group
 FIA WRC 2 Pro
 Gus GREENSMITH (GBR), M-Sport Ford 
 Mads ØSTBERG (NOR), Citroën Total
 Pierre-Louis LOUBET (FRA)
Sunday 27 OctoberA hit FIA WRC 2 Pro Championship crew
 A hit FIA WRC 2 Championship crew
 Top three crews in the total classification
 Representative of the successful producer


Hyundai Shell Mobis WRTThierry Neuville / Nicolas Gilsoul (#11)
 Dani Sordo / Carlos Del Barrio (#6)
 Sébastien Loeb / Daniel Elena (#19)
Toyota Gazoo Racing WRTOtt Tänak / Martin Järveoja (#8)
 Kris Meeke / Sebastian Marshall (#5)
 Jari-Matti Latvala / Miikka Anttila (#10)
Citroën Total WRTSébastien Ogier / Julien Ingrassia (#1)
 Esapekka Lappi / Janne Ferm (#4)
M-Sport Ford WRTTeemu Suninen / Jarmo Lehtinen (#3)
 Elfyn Evans / Scott Martin (#33)

Like it? Share with your friends!

Racing Elite


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *