The FIA has announced the entry listing for the third edition of the Intercontinental Drifting Cup, held from 29 November to 1 December at the infamous Tsukuba Circuit in Japan.

The listing aspects 25 drivers, including the winners of essentially the fundamental two editions, representing 17 varied countries and territories from all the plot via four continents.

The Eastern representation is headlined by the winner of the inaugural edition of the tournament, Masato Kawabata. The three-time winner of the D1 Colossal Prix series will field his Toyota Supra A90 with the draw of repeating his 2017 triumph.

His compatriot, Masashi Yokoi, might well simply serene even be in contention for overall glory. Riding his Nissan Silvia S15, the reigning D1 GP champion is at this time main his domestic waft series and is on his intention to ranking lend a hand to lend a hand titles.

Closing twelve months’s FIA IDC winner Georgy Chivchyan will return to defend his trophy. The driver from the Siberian city of Krasnoyarsk, higher is commonly known as “Gocha”, is a a number of winner and present chief of the Russian Drift Sequence.

Andrew Grey might well simply serene be but another force to be reckoned with. The Scotsman is a longtime name on the Eastern drifting scene, having won his fourth System Drift Japan title this month. Grey will pilot his world-neatly-known 1000bhp Toyota MarkⅡJZX100.

Michael Whiddett, also is commonly known as ‘Mad Mike’, is but another System Drift Japan Champion on the entry listing, having clinched the title in 2018. The New Zealander is a neatly-known ambassador of the sport internationally, having done exhibition runs on such occasions as System 1 Grands Prix, rounds of the Australian Supercars Championship and the Goodwood Competition of Flee.

Closing twelve months’s tournament runner-up, Yves Meyer will return to Japan targeting the tip space. The Swiss driver will arrive to Japan new from the inaugural FIA Motorsport Video games: Drifting Cup, being staged at the Italian Vallelunga Circuit.

Masanori Kohashi, Yukio Matsui and Hideyuki Fujino are the final native drivers on the grid, fielding a Nissan Silvia S15, a Mazda RX7 FD3S and Nissan 180SX RPS13 respectively. But right here is no longer the quit of this Asian representation at this twelve months’s FIA IDC.

Xia Chang Hao, Chen Wen Qian and Zijun Zhao assemble the Chinese language influx of drivers, with Chinese language Taipei being represented by Feng Jenchih. Charles Ng, historical World Touring Car Championship habitual will also compete in the FIA IDC, wearing the flag of Hong Kong, as neatly as Byung Jin Ahn from South Korea, and Toni Arakaki from the Philippines.

Malaysia might well have Muhammad Zaiham Hamdan and, but but another driver with D1 abilities, Tengku Djan Ley collaborating in the tournament. Fellow South-Eastern Asian country, Thailand, will truly have a two-driver representation constituted of Chanatpon Kerdpiam and Daychapon Toyingcharoen.

Singapore’s Ben Chiam is but another System Drift Japan habitual, representing the same Team Kazama outfit as Grey.

For 2019 the tournament moves to the neatly-known Tsukuba Circuit, the set apart this might possibly possibly well have space from the 29th November to the first December. Any driver keeping a license of his National Sports Authority is eligible to compete in the FIA IDC.

The 2017 edition used to be won by Kawabata, with Chivchyan taking the victory in the following twelve months.

The wearing and technical regulations are available right here.

Like it? Share with your friends!

Racing Elite


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *