The MINI John Cooper Works Rally crew of Orlando Terranova and Ronnie Graue claimed a maiden FIA World Cup for Inappropriate Nation Bajas title in gorgeous style at this time time by successful the final and title-deciding round, Baja Portalegre 500*. The Argentineans beat the 2018 winner, Nani Roma – this year co-pushed by Dani Oliveras – by near to three minutes with title hopefuls Jakub Przygoński and Timo Gottschalk dropping to third within the final allotment with a puncture.

Vladimir Vasilyev/Konstantin Zhiltsov, Terranova and Przygoński went into this final tournament in a 3-scheme combat for the crown, the rivals split by staunch three parts within the championship standings. Nonetheless, Vasilyev’s realistic hopes of claiming a second World Cup title lost traction within the third of the four selective sections with a broken driveshaft some 20 kilometres sooner than the discontinuance of the 193 kilometre allotment. Having been towed to the make, this dropped them from fifth to a some distance away 23rd. After repairs in provider, the Russians powered on and carried out 13th within the total tournament classification, dropping them from first to third within the title standings. The fight therefore raged between the MINI crews of Terranova and Przygoński, the Argentinean’s one stage grab giving him the final edge and a 16 level wait on over the Pole within the World Cup standings.

Baja Portalegre 500 kicked off on Friday with a short 4.66 kilometre gigantic particular stage, victory going to Portugal’s have Miguel Barbosa and Pedro Velosa. The Toyota crew maintained their wait on with one other victory within the second allotment to magnify their lead overnight, albeit to staunch below 30 seconds. This present day, nonetheless, the crew dropped time off the route and Barbosa then additional sacrificed any hopes of a fourth house victory by towing the stricken Vasilyev back to the sanctuary of provider for loads wanted repairs.

Terranova and Graue, who’ve now notched up their fourth victory from six events, then powered ahead and into the lead, the crew successful SS3 by over 90 seconds to take an wait on of near to four minutes over Przygoński into the final 191 kilometre allotment. Mindful of asserting a aggressive tempo but staying out of peril, Terranova and Graue were only fourth fastest within the final allotment, but crucially one establish of residing ahead of Przygoński: ample to stable the title.

Roma and Oliveras claimed the runner-up establish in barely their second time out within the Borgward after debuting the car on the latest Rallye du Maroc. For Roma, this can were one other fulfilling studying and shakedown take a look at ahead of subsequent year’s Dakar Rally.

After their gorgeous victory on the penultimate round in Jordan, Przygonski and Gottschalk had salvage themselves firmly back within the title combat and pushed Terranova to the make line. With four podium finishes, including two victories, already below their belt, unfortunately a puncture and third total became staunch now not ample to stable a second consecutive title for Przygonski.

In the back of the leading trio, Portuguese honours were upheld by Helder Oliveira and Paulo Fiuza, the MINI All4 Racing crew finishing an attractive fourth total. By the discontinuance of the outlet day of rivals they held sixth but truly came into the have at this time time with two second fastest instances. Yet any other Borgward became additionally out on the phases within the hands of Ricardo Porém, the Portuguese a four-time winner of the tournament between 2014 and 2017. He and co-utilizing brother Manuel Porém bounced back from 20th total after harmful the steering in SS2 to take a courageous final stage grab. Fellow countrymen Tiago Reis/Valter Cardoso rounded out the head six in a Mitsubishi Lancer.

The T3 Trophy for Drivers became additionally secured on Baja Portalegre 500 after a season-prolonged fight. Fedor Vorobyev went into the tournament with a 22 level wait on over Italy’s Michele Cinotto, courtesy of 4 victories in his Can-Am Maverick X3. The Russian, co-pushed by Kirill Shubin, duly went on to convey his fifth class grab to take the title*. The Trophy for T2 drivers had already provisionally been obtained by Latvia’s Aldis Vilcans, even though the tournament victory became taken by João Ferreira/David Monteiro on Baja Portalegre 500.

* Subject to the legitimate e-newsletter of the outcomes by the FIA

Baja Portalegre 500 – Final Classification


Orlando Terranova/Ronnie Graue

Mini JCW Works Rally

5hr 39min 24sec


Nani Roma/Dani Oliveras

Borgward BX7 DKR Evo

5hr 42min 17sec


Jakub Przygoński/Timo Gottschalk

Mini JCW Works Rally

5hr 44min 07sec


Helder Oliveira/Paulo Fiuza

Mini All4 Racing

5hr 47min 08sec


Ricardo Porém /Manuel Porém

Borgward BX7 DKR Evo

5hr 52min 42sec


Tiago Reis/Valter Cardoso

Mitsubishi Lancer

5hr 55min 09sec


Alexandre Franco/Rui Franco

BMW Evo X1

5hr 56min 48sec


Gregoire de Mevius/Andre Leyh

Toyota Hilux Overdrive

5hr 57min 09sec


Nuno Madeira/Filipe Serra

Kia Sportage

6hr 00min 04sec


Nuno Matos/Joel Lutas

Fiat Fullback Proto

6hr 10min 55sec



Like it? Share with your friends!

Racing Elite


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *