This night, at a ceremony held at the Automobile Club de France within the guts of Paris, 29 champions from the sphere of endurance racing were inducted into the FIA Hall of Fame.

The Champions recognised at the ceremony were:

  • Bob Garretson (1981)
  • Jacky Ickx (1982, 1983)
  • Stefan Bellof (1984)
  • Derek Bell (1985, 1986)
  • Hans-Joachim Stuck (1985)
  • Raul Boesel (1987)
  • Martin Brundle (1988)
  • Jean-Louis Schlesser (1989, 1990)
  • Mauro Baldi (1990)
  • Teo Fabi (1991)
  • Yannick Dalmas (1992)
  • Derek Warwick (1992)
  • André Lotterer (2012)
  • Marcel Fässler (2012)
  • Benôit Tréluyer (2012)
  • Allan McNish (2013)
  • Loïc Duval (2013)
  • Tom Kristensen (2013)
  • Anthony Davidson (2014)
  • Sébastien Buemi (2014, 2018-19)
  • Brendon Hartley (2015, 2017)
  • Stamp Webber (2015)
  • Timo Bernhard (2015, 2017)
  • Marc Lieb (2016)
  • Neel Jani (2016)
  • Roman Dumas (2016)
  • Earl Bamber (2017)
  • Kazuki Nakajima (2018-19)
  • Fernando Alonso (2018-19)

The ceremony began with the presentation of the drivers who won one world title between 1981 and 1992. The FIA World Persistence Championship became first won by American Bob Garretson for Lancia in 1981 and the 86-year-dilapidated became the main driver to be inducted into the FIA Hall of Fame. 

The expressionless Stefan Bellof, who won the title in 1984 with Porsche, became represented by his brother Georg on the stage. The next driver became Germany’s Hans-Joachim Stuck, who won the World Persistence Championship title in 1985 alongside Britain’s Derek Bell for Porsche.

Brazil’s Raul Boesel and Britain’s Martin Brundle were next on stage to bear a shining time their titles won with Jaguar in 1987 and ’88 respectively.

1990 title-winner with Sauber Mercedes Mauro Baldi became adopted by his compatriot Teo Fabi, who succeeded him in ’91, claiming the title for Jaguar.

Four-time Le Mans winner Yannick Dalmas became World Champion in 1992 with Peugeot and the French driver became the next to appear on stage, adopted by his teammate Britain’s Derek Warwick.

It became then the turn of the double World Champions from the 1981-92 generation, Jacky Ickx and Derek Bell. The Belgian driver won the sphere title in 1982 and repeated the feat in 1983, on both conditions driving for Porsche.

The British racer, Bell, took encourage to encourage championships in 1985 and 1986, the main alongside Hans-Joachim Stuck. Similarly to Ickx, both his titles furthermore came within the encourage of the wheel of Porsche machinery.

Jean-Louis Schlesser became the third double World Champion to be inducted into the FIA Hall of Fame. The French driver won the title in 1989 with Sauber Mercedes, repeating his success in 1990 alongside Mauro Baldi.

The FIA World Persistence Championship became then reintroduced twenty years later in 2012. The drivers with one World Championship title were inaugurated into the FIA Hall of Fame. The major title-winners of the novel generation were Swiss driver Marcel Fässler, adopted by Germany’s André Lotterer after which France’s Benôit Tréluyer, who won the title with Audi.  

Next on stage were the 2013 champions, with French driver Loïc Duval, adopted by Scotland’s Allan McNish and Denmark’s ‘Mr Le Mans’ Tom Kristensen, who added a World Championship to his chronicle nine victories at the 24 Hours of Le Mans that season.

The Audi drivers were succeeded on stage by Britain’s Anthony Davidson, who won the title for Toyota alongside Switzerland’s Sebastien Buemi.

It became then turn of the Porsche LMP1 racers, starting with Stamp Webber, the 2015 World Championship winner for the German sports actions car maker alongside his teammates New Zealander Brendon Hartley and Germany’s Timo Bernhard.  

Romain Dumas became the next driver on stage, the French driver successful the 2016 title alongside his Swiss teammate Neel Jani and Germany’s Marc Lieb. Porsche made it three in a row in 2017, with New Zealander Earl Bamber.

It became time to recognise drivers who took the glory within the main ever Mountainous Season, held real via two calendar years in 2018 and ’19, starting with Kazuki Nakajima, who took the honours for Toyota.

The stage then welcomed double World Champions from the 2012-19 generation of the World Persistence Championship.

2014 winner Sebastien Buemi became the main amongst these with two neatly-liked generation titles to his names.

Germany’s Timo Bernhard won the title in 2015 alongside Stamp Webber and Brendon Hartley. In 2017 he repeated the feat, again with Hartley and with one other Kiwi, Earl Bamber. Brendon Hartley became next on stage to bear a shining time his 2015 and 2017 World Championships for Porsche.

The closing driver renowned became Fernando Alonso, the 2018/19 FIA World Persistence Drivers’ Champion being inducted into the FIA Hall of Fame for the 2d time, the double System One World Champion the finest driver to bear completed this honour.

Delivery air the Automobile Club de France and the neighbouring FIA HQ were four championship successful autos from the somewhat a pair of eras being renowned. The autos on uncover were the 1983 Porsche 956 raced by Jacky Ickx, the 1992 Peugeot 905 Evo 1 Bis pushed by Derek Warwick and Yannick Dalmas. From the as a lot as date generation became the 2013 Audi R18 e-tron quattro pushed by Tom Kristensen, Allan McNish and Loïc Duval and the 2018 Toyota TS050 Hybrid raced by the novel World Champions Fernando Alonso, Sébastien Buemi and Kazuki Nakajima.

The FIA Hall of Fame gallery is positioned at the FIA Headquarters in both Paris and Geneva. Additionally, a accurate websites celebrates the distinctive careers of the 33 System One World Champions who were the inaugural inductees in 2017, the 17 World Rally Champions earlier this year and now the 29 FIA World Persistence Champions. 

The gallery became created by Wilmotte and Mates, a prominent global structure firm headquartered in France, and would possibly perchance well honest tranquil be birth to the public upon reservation. 

Rolex and Michelin are furthermore fervent with the FIA’s flagship Championships and are both a accomplice of the FIA World Persistence Championship and the 24 Hours of Le Mans. Rolex helps the FIA System One World Championship, while Michelin companions the FIA World Rally Championship and ABB FIA System E Championship.  

Pictures from the FIA Hall of Fame Ceremony are on hand HERE

Like it? Share with your friends!

Racing Elite


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *