Formula 1: How to get F1 super license

8 shares, 1 point

If you want to drive in Formula 1, you need the necessary super license – this has been the case for many years. However, the requirements have changed to receive such a super license. After 300 kilometers of drive with F1 car was sufficient in the past, a point system has been in use for some years now to only allow qualified drivers to enter Formula 1.

Alexander Albon, Lando Norris, Carlos Sainz, Daniel Ricciardo, Nico Hülkenberg

To drive in Formula 1 are 40 super license -Points required

Points are available to 10 best drivers per racing category based on their final position in the championship. To get a super license for Formula 1, there are 40 Points necessary. These must be collected within three years before they expire again. Exception: Points from the kart championships (maximum twelve) only expire after five years.

In the table below we clearly list how many points there are for which place in a championship. Are fewer than 16 pilots in a championship at the launch , the number of points is reduced depending on the size of the starting field. A driver can enter in two championships per year for the super license points.

Normally, a series must have at least five occasions on at least three different routes in order to be eligible for points. The only exception is the Formula 3 World Cup in Macau, where the winner of the individual event receives five points.

Formula 24040403020108th643
Formula 3302520151297532
Formula E.302520108th64321
WEC (LMP1)3024201612108th642
Regional Formula 3 Europe2520151075321
Super Formula2520151075321
WEC (LMP2)201612108th642
Super GT2016121075321
Regional Formula 3 Asia1814121064321
Regional Formula 3 America1814121064321
Regional Formula 3 Japan1814121064321
IMSA (prototypes)1814108th6421
NASCAR Cup15121075321
Indy Lights15121075321
Formula Renault Eurocup15121075321
Euroformula Open15121075321
Super Formula Lights Japan15121075321
National Formula 4121075321
AsLMS / ELMS (prototypes)108th642
WEC (GTE-Pro)108th642
WEC (GTE-Am)108th642
IMSA (GTLM)108th642
Asian Winter Series107531
National Formula 3 (non-FIA)107531
Indy Pro 2000107531
NASCAR National107531
Toyota Racing Series107531
International GT3 series642
FIA Kart World Cup (Sen.)4321
FIA Kart Continental (Sen.)321
FIA Kart World Cup (Jun.)321
FIA Kart Continental (Jun.)21

In the meantime it is also possible to get some additional points: There are two points for pilots who remain without penalty points in one season – but only if there is a penalty point system in the Championship gives.

For drivers with a license that only applies to free practicing, there is an additional point per Formula 1 event if you have at least 100 completed kilometers in practicing and received no penalty point. A maximum of ten additional points can be accumulated in three years.

New for 2020: The W-Series  is eligible for points, where world champion will get 15 points.

Like it? Share with your friends!

8 shares, 1 point
Racing Elite


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *