Team principal Claire Williams: These are her best F1 drivers in history


( – The heydays of the Williams team are some time in the past. In the 1980 first and especially the beginning of 1990 years, Williams was one of the top teams and warfare was unbeatable in phases like a flash.

Nigel Mansell

© Motorsport Photographs

1992 Nigel Mansell became sovereign world champion with Williams zoom Download

Alan Jones (1980), Keke Rosberg (1982), Nelson Piquet (1987), Nigel Mansell (1992), Alain Prost (1993), Damon Hill (1996) and Jacques Villeneuve (1997) were using Williams' formula -1 World Champion.

Who was the best Williams driver? This question was asked by deputy team boss Claire Williams at ' Sky Sport F1' . And that's her answer: “Nigel Mansell. He was warfare mega and such a normal guy. Of course Ayrton Senna. And Juan Pablo Montoya.”

Claire Williams is born 1978 and has in her childhood and adolescence Mansell witnessed up close. With 95 Begins, Mansell is still the driver with the most Grands Prix for Williams (Stand End 2019).

Photo gallery: All Formula 1 cars from Williams

Der FW 01 debuts in the year 1974. Driver: Arturo Merzario. Frank Williams (left) is not yet in a wheelchair. Photo gallery

Mansell, Senna and Montoya have so impressed Claire Williams that she even goes so far as to say: “You were not just the best Williams drivers for me, but the best drivers in Formula 1 history. “

George Russell and rookie Nicholas Latifi are currently the two drivers for Williams. “If I had to choose two drivers instead of George and Nicholas today, it would be Juan Pablo Montoya and Nigel Mansell,” concludes Claire Williams.

Mansell drove from 1985 to 1988 and from 1991 to 1992 for Williams. 1994 he jumped in a few races. The British won victories for Williams. Montoya denied from 2001 to 2004 68 Grands Prix for Williams and took four wins. Senna started in the beginning 1994 only three races for Williams.

365 Tickets USA

Like it? Share with your friends!

Racing Elite


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *