2020 WRC - Rally Turkey - T. Neuville / N. Gilsoul (Lenormand / DPPI)

Hyundai driver Thierry Neuville takes a 33.2-2nd lead over a tying six-time World Champion Sébastien Ogier and 9-time World Champion Sébastien Loeb into the final four particular stages of Rally Turkey on Sunday.


Three consecutive fastest times from Saturday’s six punishing gravel stages, alongside a puncture and minor hydraulic wretchedness for his Toyota rival Ogier, dangle given the Belgian driver the correct foundations on which to push for a maiden success on Turkey’s Turquoise Flit.


With Ott Tänak out of the equation with large time penalties introduced on on anecdote of a Third-stage steerage failure on his Hyundai i20 WRC in the morning loop, Neuville and Toyota’s Elfyn Evans both dangle ideal alternatives to extra stake their claims on a maiden world title and pile the strain on the sequence-main Ogier. The defending World Champion from Estonia is now counting on seeking to rating a most 5 facets on Sunday’s Energy Stage finale.

Ogier and Neuville traded stage times on the morning’s loop and a mere 1.6 seconds separated them on the midday service end sooner than the Frenchman sustained his flat tyre and slipped to Third. The Toyota Yaris driver moved aid up to 2nd on the penultimate stage, easiest to hunt Sébastien Loeb carry the final timed take a look at and match his total time to the portion of a 2nd.


Evans couldn’t rather discover the tempo to check his team-mate or his Belgian rival all the intention throughout the morning however is accrued in the warmth of fight heading correct into a closing morning showdown, irrespective of slipping all the formulation down to fourth on the night time end.


Loeb lost his in a single day lead on the essential stage of the day, largely on anecdote of a unhappy tyre preference and the livid tempo of his competitors, and he grew to turn into embroiled in a tussle with Kalle Rovanperä for fourth. But a puncture for the fifth-positioned Finn in SS6 eased the strain on the outdated and he forced Ogier and Evans to the attain, duly overcoming outrageous tyre set on to carry the final stage.


Neither of the Finnish M-Sport drivers would possibly per chance well destroy the dominance on the high of the chief board, irrespective of the team mechanics working no longer easy to optimise the correct settings for the Ford Fiestas. Teemu Suninen and Esapekka Lappi reached the night time end in sixth and seventh.


Gus Greensmith guided the third of the M-Sport cars to eighth and Pierre-Louis Loubet persisted his quick finding out curve in a Hyundai i20 to maintain ninth, the Frenchman’s stage times making improvements to because the afternoon improved, although he acknowledged he has skilled “the toughest day in his occupation”.


Poland’s 10th-positioned Kajetan Kajetanowicz displaced Marco Bulacia on the morning’s opener to take adjust of FIA WRC3 and he overhauled FIA WRC2 chief Adrien Fourmaux sooner than the midday destroy. The latter stopped for 2 minutes in stage six after a flat tyre and talented his category advantage to Sweden’s Pontus Tidemand.

2020 Rally Turkey – Unofficial Results after Fragment 3:

1. Thierry Neuville (BEL) / Nicolas Gilsoul (BEL)  Hyundai i20 Coupe WRC 1 hr 36min 38.6sec
2. Sébastien Loeb (FRA) / Daniel Elena (MNC) Hyundai i20 Coupe WRC 1 hr 37min 11.8sec
3. Sébastien Ogier (FRA) / Julien Ingrassia (FRA)  Toyota Yaris WRC 1 hr 37min 11.8sec
4. Elfyn Evans (GBR) / Scott Martin (GBR) Toyota Yaris WRC 1 hr 37min 39.4sec
5. Kalle Rovanperä (FIN) / Jonne Halttunen (FIN)  Toyota Yaris WRC 1 hr 37min 57.4sec
6. Teemu Suninen (FIN) / Jarmo Lehtinen (FIN)  Ford Fiesta WRC 1 hr 38min 13.6sec
7. Esapekka Lappi (FIN) / Janne Ferm (FIN)  Ford Fiesta WRC 1 hr 39min 06.6sec
8. Gus Greensmith (GBR) / Elliott Edmondson (GBR)   Ford Fiesta WRC 1 hr 39min 54.0sec
9. Pierre-Louis Loubet (FRA) / Vincent Landais (FRA) Hyundai i20 Coupe WRC 1 hr 40min 59.0sec
10. Okay. Kajetanowicz (POL) / M. Szczepaniak (POL) – WRC3 Škoda Fabia Evo 1 hr 42min 50.1sec

Like it? Share with your friends!

Racing Elite


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *