Pons Racing 40 rider finishes P6 to reign the MotoE™ world in his rookie year, Tuuli returns to winning ways

Jordi Torres (Pons Racing 40) is your 2020 FIM Enel MotoE™ World Cup winner. The Spanish rookie performed P6 in Flee 2 on the SHARK Helmets Enormous Prix de France to pronounce the title in a flee that seen Niki Tuuli (Avant Ajo MotoE) return to winning ways for the most principal time since the very first MotoE™ flee. Home hero Mike Di Meglio (EG 0,0 Marc VDS) and Josh Hook (Octo Pramac MotoE) accomplished the final rostrum of the 2020 MotoE™ campaign in a single other dramatic stumble on at Le Mans.

Jordi Torres is your 2020 FIM Enel MotoE™ World Cup winner 11/10/2020

Spanish Elvis becomes the 2d World Cup winner in history and does it no matter being a class rookie

Before the flee, Torres wanted an eighth space attain or greater to be crowned the 2020 World Cup winner, no matter what his competitors did. From pole space, Torres got a handsome open but not as handsome as Tuuli. The Finn grabbed the holeshot with Torres very tentative into Turn 3, as drama unfolded. Eric Granado (Avintia Esponsorama Racing) became once down at Turn 3 and tagged the help of Torres, fortunately the Spaniard wasn’t affected as Alejandro Medina (Openbank Aspar Crew) also went down at Turn 3. Torres – by the pores and skin of his teeth – emerged from the gap chicane unscathed, with Tuuli main Di Meglio and Hook.

Further spherical the gap lap, Tommaso Marcon (Tech3 E-Racing) crashed out at Turn 7, with Torres slipping to P6 in the help of Maria Herrera (Openbank Aspar Crew) and the swiftly starting Dominique Aegerter (Dynavolt Intact GP). P6 became once handsome adequate for Torres but he became once quickly previous Herrera, with Di Meglio taking the lead of his residence Enormous Prix on Lap 2. It became once a main trio on the entrance that consisted of Di Meglio, Tuuli and Hook, with Aegerter not moderately shut adequate in P4 to mount a podium attack.

Torres became once satisfied sitting in P5, and rightly so. There became once no trust to push for a podium, all that mattered became once ending Eighth or greater. On the other hand, there became once a mountainous battle up ahead for said podium and with two laps closing, Tuuli retook the lead from Di Meglio heading into Turn 3. Further relief, Matteo Ferrari (Trentino Gresini MotoE) became once hunting down Torres and with Aegerter in P4, Ferrari wanted P5 to intention level on functions with the Swiss man for P2 in the final standings.

Round 5: MotoE™ SHARK Helmets French Enormous Prix Flee 2 11/10/2020

Matt Dunn and Neil Morrison talk you during the season finale for the all-electric class in Le Mans

Coming onto the last lap, Tuuli restful held sturdy but Di Meglio became once zigzag onto the help of his Energica Ego Corsa. Would possibly perhaps well perhaps furthermore the latter snatch a house Enormous Prix victory on the last lap? Meanwhile, Ferrari did procure the greater of Torres coming onto the last lap of 2020 but that didn’t matter for Torres. One extra lap of the legendary Le Mans became once all that stood in his device from World Cup glory.

On the entrance, Tuuli strung together a gracious last lap to pronounce his first MotoE™ victory since the 2019 German GP – the maiden electric class flee. After an harm-plagued couple of years, Tuuli returns to the fore. Di Meglio picks up a 2d residence rostrum of the weekend, two P2s is a job smartly carried out for the Frenchman and factual in the help of the duo, Hook picks up his first MotoE™ podium after ending P4 on Saturday.

P4 from P14 on the grid for Aegerter became once a sensational effort from the Swiss rider and inclined standings chief, but with Ferrari ending P5, Aegerter has to resolve for P3 in the final total classification. Nonetheless, a handsome rookie campaign for Aegerter. 2019 World Cup winner Ferrari will likely be ruing his Flee 1 wreck on Saturday afternoon, the Italian is forced to ranking up the runners-up medal this season. Ferrari performed on the same functions as Aegerter, but takes 2d on wins amassed.

Then, Torres crossed the road. A astonishing moment for ‘Spanish Elvis’ who did all he needed to set to alter into factual the 2d MotoE™ World Cup winner. The three-time Moto2™ podium finisher completely deserves the 2020 crown and at last finishes 17 functions sooner than Ferrari and Aegerter in the title flee – gargantuan congratulations to Torres and the personnel!

Niccolo Canepa (LCR E-Crew) picked up P7, factual sooner than teammate Xavier Simeon in the final flee of 2020. Herrera claims her 2d high 10 of the weekend in P9, a mountainous device for the Aspar rider to attain the season, with Xavi Cardelus (Avintia Esponsorama Racing) ending the discontinue 10.

The injured Lukas Tulovic (Tech3 E-Racing) battled the concern to pronounce P11 in Flee 2, the German ending factual over a 2d determined of Moto2™ European Championship rival Alessandro Zaccone (Trentino Gresini MotoE). Mattia Casadei’s (Ongetta SIC58 Squadracorse) titles hopes in the wreck vanished after his Turn 3 wreck in Flee 1, and it became once a disappointing weekend for the Italian who takes P13 away with him from the final flee. On the other hand, Casadei’s season as a complete is something to be cheerful about for him and the personnel.

Casadei performed a smidgen sooner than the Alex de Angelis (Octo Pramac MotoE) in the Sammarinese rider’s closing Enormous Prix look. The 36-year-outdated school suffered a heavy E-Pole wreck and showed grit and resolution to plod in Flee 1 and a pair of, as he bowed out of racing after a stellar profession that incorporated 40 Enormous Prix podiums. Jakub Kornfeil (WithU Motorsport) picked up the final point in P15, taking his total tally to 15 in his rookie campaign.

And with that, the 2020 MotoE™ World Cup concludes. A rookie winner is crowned after one other extra special season of electric class racing, congratulations to Torres and Pons 40 Racing. Bring on 2021!

High 10:

1. Niki Tuuli (Avant Ajo MotoE)

2. Mike Di Meglio (EG 0,0 Marc VDS) + 0.166

3. Josh Hook (Octo Pramac MotoE) + 1.294

4. Dominique Aegerter (Dynavolt Intact GP) + 2.353

5. Matteo Ferrari (Trentino Gresini MotoE) + 6.017

6. Jordi Torres (Pons Racing 40) + 6.490

7. Niccolo Canepa (LCR E-Crew) + 10.066

8. Xavier Simeon (LCR E-Crew) + 10.472

9. Maria Herrera (Openbank Aspar Crew) + 10.663

10. Xavi Cardelus (Avintia Esponsorama Racing) + 11.101

Every apply session, qualifying battle and flee, recent interviews, historical races and so grand extra unheard of protest material: right here is VideoPass!

Like it? Share with your friends!

Racing Elite


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *