Die klassischen Formel Ford- und Formel Opel-Rennserien bieten eine zugängliche Art und Weise, den klassischen Formelrennsport zu genießen, wobei Streckentage in Deutschland, Frankreich, Belgien und den Niederlanden organisiert werden - Foto Sportservice Richter
The classic Formula Ford and Formula Opel racing series offer an accessible way of enjoying classic formula racing, with track days being organized in Germany, France, Belgium and the Netherlands – Photo Sportservice Richter

Formula racing general

05. 11. 2020

From the season 2021 the classic racing series Formula Opel (FOR) and Formula Ford (FFR) organized by Sportservice Richter will be held in Germany, the Benelux countries and France placed under new management. Frank Richter and his wife Karin have decided to hand over the series to Wilco Ibes from VIT Glide & Tire Products and companies NV, who is already a service provider for both championships.

“After 11 years of organizing the FFR and FOR racing series it is for united states of the time to say goodbye to united states, “says Frank Richter. “We would have liked to tell our participants at the championship celebration that we had planned in Hockenheim, but unfortunately we had to attend this event because of Covid – 19. However, we are very keen that the racing series will continue. We think that with Wilco Ibes from VIT RTS have found a great successor who is already known to the teams for providing technical support for the FFR and FOR series and whom the teams trust. We wish Wilco all the best for the future. “

“I am very proud of the trust that Sportservice Richter has placed in me to make the FFR and FOR series a lasting success for the participants,” adds Wilco Ibes added. “Frank Richter and his wife Karin have been instrumental in building the series over the past few years. We are now very busy working with Frank to make the transition as smooth as possible. The season 2021 is already planned and the drivers will receive their calendars soon.

The original Formula Opel series ran from 1988 to 2000. Over the years The series proved to be an important stepping stone for drivers on their way into Formula 1 and DTM racing series, with well-known names such as Jos Verstappen, David Coulthard, Rubens Barrichello, Takuma Sato and Mikka Hakkinen. Nowadays the series offers an easily accessible way to to enjoy classic formula racing, with track days organized across Europe earth. The Formula Opel racing series has been part of the AVD Historic Glide Cup since 2017 and registered with the FIA.

The Formula Ford series is an entry-level class of single-seat formula racing with championships around the world and is traditionally considered one of the first great stepping stones into formula racing after karting. The series usually features professional, career-oriented drivers alongside amateurs and enthusiasts. The FFR championships consist of Formula Ford 360 drivers registered with either FFR or Trophée FF Kent-Zetec, classic Formula Ford 2000 – Drivers, and Formula Ford Zetec drivers who are registered either with FFR or Trophée FF Kent-Zetec.


Like it? Share with your friends!

Racing Elite


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *