The no7 Toyota Gazoo Racing TS050-Hybrid will start the 8 Hours of Bahrain, Round 8 of the 2019/20 FIA World Patience Championship on pole space.  In the 20-minute session Jose Maria Lopez and Mike Conway scheme an moderate lap of 1m40.114, 0.751s ahead of the championship leaders Brendon Hartley and Kazuki Nakajima within the no8 Toyota.

The LMP2 class will be headed by the no22 United Autosports Oreca-Gibson for the fourth time this season, with Paul Di Resta and Phil Hanson’s moderate lap of 1m47.440 nearly six tenths ahead if the no37 Jackie Chan DC Racing Oreca of Will Stevens and Gary Aubry.

Porsche and Aston Martin Claim Extra Level in Bahrain

The pole space for the LMGTE classes had been claimed by Porsche with the no92 911 RSR and the no98 Aston Martin claiming pole for the LMGTE Am class.

Kevin Estre and Michael Christensen will start the next day’s 8 Hours of Bahrain on the entrance row of the GTE grid, correct 16 thousandths of a 2nd ahead of championship leaders Nicki Thiim and Marco Sorensen.  The no92 crews moderate lap of 1m56.505 was perfect enough to present them the sting.  The no51 AF Corse Ferrari was third, with James Calado and Daniel Serra in third unbiased with a 1m56.706 moderate lap.

Ross Gunn and Paul Dalla Lana scored their first pole of the season, the Anglo-Canadian duo posting an moderate lap time of 1m58.356, four tenths ahead of championship leaders Jonny Adam and Salih Yoluc within the no90 TF Sport Aston Martin Vantage.

The no62 Crimson River Sport Ferrari, with Kai Cozzolino and Bonamy Grimes was third fastest and this was their perfect qualifying result of the season.  The British crew had been 0.052s on the serve of the TF Sport Vantage on the pause of the 20-minute session. 

The 8 Hours of Bahrain will start at 14h00 (local) / 12h00 (CET).

Like it? Share with your friends!

Racing Elite


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *