WTCR Rush of Aragón, MotorLand Aragón, November 13-15: Rush myth

WTCR − FIA World Touring Car Cup, rounds 14, 15 and 16 of 16

Yann Ehrlacher is the youngest FIA World Touring Car title winner in historic previous following a momentous day at MotorLand Aragón for the 24-year-historic Cyan Racing Lynk & Co driver*.

One more WTCR − FIA World Touring Car Cup season decider packed stuffed with drama started with a sensational victory for Ehrlacher’s chief rival Esteban Guerrieri − from P16 on the grid − however ended with a first WTCR title for France following on from success for Italy’s Gabriele Tarquini and Hungary’s Norbert Michelisz in 2018 and 2019 respectively, plus a step forward maiden lunge earn for Uruguay’s Santiago Urrutia.

Ehrlacher, whose uncle Yvan Muller has four FIA World Touring Car Championships to his name and obtained Rush 2 for Cyan Racing Lynk & Co, has gentle the coveted yellow jacket as the Goodyear #FollowTheLeader all season.

No topic Guerrieri’s victory for Honda-powered ALL-INKL.COM Münnich Motorsport trimming his title advantage to 16 points after Rush 1, Ehrlacher remained light starting up Rush 2 and he duly turned King of WTCR when Guerrieri used to be forced to pit with hurt.

However Ehrlacher’s title didn’t hinge on the outcomes of the WTCR Rush of Aragón weekend. A three-time winner in 2020, Ehrlacher belied his lack of skills to earn World Touring Car racing’s ideal prize on the help of a formidable marketing campaign.

The outdated youngest FIA World Touring Car title winners were Andy Priaulx and José María López, who were both 31 after they turned champions for basically the major time in 2005 and 2015 respectively.

Muller, who fittingly obtained the lunge for the duration of which his nephew turned King of WTCR, used to be one among basically the major to congratulate Ehrlacher amid emotional scenes within the MotorLand Aragón pitlane. And by ending fourth in Rush 3, Muller secured the runner-up characteristic with fellow Frenchman Jean-Karl Vernay taking third and the WTCR Trophy for self sustaining racers.

Guerrieri looked as if it will have done enough to beat Vernay to third characteristic after Attila Tassi, his fellow Honda-powered driver, slowed to hand him the most essential level he wanted to beat his rival. However a 30-second force-through penalty for video display limits infringements dropped Guerrieri down the assert to transfer away Team Mulsanne-flee Vernay to have a honest time third space after a formidable season in his Alfa Romeo Giulietta Veloce TCR by Romeo Ferrraris.

After shedding out on the WTCR title at the season finale for a third successive season, Guerrieri can however lock help on a stellar marketing campaign in his Honda Civic Form R TCR. As effectively as environment the parable for basically the most WTCR wins, Guerrieri’s Rush 1 triumph used to be the stuff of memoir, though he owed an enormous debt of gratitude to his crew-mate Néstor Girolami.

Guerrieri’s fellow Argentine also opted for slick front Goodyear tyres and moist-climate rear covers and excelled by charging from P11 on the grid to lead by the conclude of lap one. However with Guerrieri desperately desiring as many points as doubtless, Girolami moved over on the closing lap to allow Guerrieri to earn for a fourth time in 2020.

Gilles Magnus, who obtained the WTCR Rookie Driver award at the penultimate match of the season, overtook his Audi-powered Comtoyou crew-mate Nathanaël Berthon in Rush 1 however lost out on a second top-three in Rush 2 when dwelling hero Mikel Azcona demoted him to fourth on the closing lap in his Zengő Motorsport-entered CUPRA Leon Competición. Azcona done within the help of Vernay and winner Muller with Vernay becoming a member of winner Urrutia and second-positioned Ehrlacher on the Rush 3 podium.

Urrutia’s first victory in his Cyaan Performance Lynk & Co 03 TCR follows on from him changing into the TAG Heuer Most Treasured Driver at WTCR Rush of Spain earlier this month, an award shared this time by Muller and Vernay, who both scored 49 points to pick out out the 2020 season.

Norbert Michelisz’s tenure as the King of WTCR ended with a weekend-high fifth in Rush 2 for BRC Hyundai N LUKOIL Squadra Corse, while Azcona used to be Thrice within the head three as Thed Björk took sixth in Rush 3 for Cyan Performance Lynk & Co.

Malaysian WTCR returnee Mitchell Cheah (Engstler Hyundai N Liqui Moly Racing Team) scored points in Rush 2 in P13, one characteristic within the help of Vuković Motorsport Renault Mégane driver Aurélien Comte.

Like it? Share with your friends!

Racing Elite


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *