2020 WRC - ACI Rally Monza - S. Ogier/J. Ingrassia (DPPI photo)

Sébastien Ogier and Julien Ingrassia won their seventh FIA World Rally Championship title in eight seasons with victory at ACI Rally Monza on Sunday afternoon.

Ogier started the final spherical going by procedure of a 14-point deficit to Toyota Yaris group-mate Elfyn Evans. They took the lead on Saturday morning, but Evans’ measured paddle kept the Welshman heading in the correct direction for a maiden championship success.

However Evans’ dream ended when he crashed down a monetary institution after being caught out by treacherous snow-lined mountain roads on Saturday.

Ogier eased by procedure of Sunday’s rain-soaked final leg at Monza’s Cathedral of Speed circuit to possess by 13.9sec and take grasp of the crown by eight parts. French drivers like claimed the title on 16 times in the final 17 years.

After a weekend characterised by never-ending rain at Monza and snow blanketing the roads in the Italian Alps, Ogier persisted one final apprehension in the final kilometres of the closing Strength Stage. The wipers on his Yaris briefly failed, leaving him with no visibility in the encourage of a muddy windscreen. The Frenchmen like now won the title with three varied manufacturers.

Outgoing champion Ott Tänak done second in a Hyundai i20, 1.4sec ahead of group-mate Dani Sordo.

The double podium became ample to steady encourage-to-encourage Manufacturers’ titles for Hyundai Motorsport by five parts from Toyota Gazoo Racing.

2020 WRC - ACI Rally Monza - Hyundai Manufacturers Champions (Photo DPPI)

Tänak and Sordo traded areas one day of Sunday’s three-stage finale with the Estonian in the break sealing the runner-up predicament in the closing test.

Early leader Esapekka Lappi done fourth in a Ford Fiesta, matching his entirely result of the season. The Finn became 30.7sec in the encourage of Tänak and 21.6sec certain of Kalle Rovanperä’s Yaris. FIA WRC3 winner Andreas Mikkelsen done the head six in a Škoda Fabia.

Oliver Solberg, FIA WRC3 World Champion Jari Huttunen, FIA WRC2 title winner Mads Østberg and Pontus Tidemand done the leaderboard.

A disenchanted Evans restarted this morning after his crash and done 26th.

Within the FIA Junior WRC Championship, Sweden’s Tom Kristtenson claimed the ACI Rally Monza victory in entrance of Paraguay’s Fabrizio Zaldivar and Huge Britain’s Rui Bell to substantiate his region as the 2020 Junior WRC Champion.

2020 ACI Rally Monza – Final Unofficial results:

1. Sébastien Ogier (FRA) / Julien Ingrassia (FRA)  Toyota Yaris WRC 2 hr 15min 51.0sec
2. Ott Tänak (EST) / Martin Järveoja (EST) Hyundai i20 Coupe WRC 1 hr 16min 04.9sec
3. Dani Sordo (ESP) / Carlos del Barrio (ESP) Hyundai i20 Coupe WRC 2 hr 16min 06.3sec
4. Esapekka Lappi (FIN) / Janne Ferm (FIN) Ford Fiesta WRC 2 hr 16min 36.7sec
5. Kalle Rovanperä (FIN) / Jonne Halttunen (FIN)  Toyota Yaris WRC 2 hr 17min 02.1sec
6. Andreas Mikkelsen (NOR) / Anders Jaeger (NOR) – WRC3 Škoda Fabia Evo 2 hr 19min 47.2sec
7. Oliver Solberg (SWE) / Aaron Johnston (IRL) – WRC3 Škoda Fabia Evo 2 hr 20min 03.1sec
8. Jari Huttunen (FIN) / Mikko Lukka (FIN) – WRC3 Hyundai NG i20 2 hr 21min 06.4sec
9. Mads Ostberg (NOR) / Torstein Eriksen (FIN) – WRC2 Citroën C3 2 hr 21min 18.4sec
10. Pontus Tidemand (SWE) / Patrick Barth (SWE) – WRC2 Škoda Fabia Evo 2 hr 21min 44.0sec

Like it? Share with your friends!

Racing Elite


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *