Round four of the 2021 FIA World Rally Championship season takes the crews onto gravel for the principle time this 365 days for the return of Rally Portugal (Would possibly possibly possibly merely 20-23).

2019 WRC - Rally Portugal - T. Neuville/N. Gilsoul (DPPI Photo)

Closing bustle in 2019, the extremely neatly-liked event relies in Matosinhos, shut to town of Porto, and substances lickety-split and technical roads. The ground most ceaselessly starts out with gentle and sandy stages but can on the entire flip rocky and rutted for the 2d cross.

Sébastien Ogier – who is a five-time winner in Portugal, sharing the document with Finnish rally icon Markku Alén – leads the championship for Toyota following his victory in Croatia final month. It’s miles shut at the wait on of, with Hyundai’s Thierry Neuville eight positive aspects some distance off from Ogier and two in front of Elfyn Evans. Ott Tänak, the 2019 event winner, is 21 positive aspects from the leader, with Kalle Rovanperä ethical one level extra wait on.

Dani Sordo returns to motion within the third manufacturing unit Hyundai entry in what ceaselessly is the debut look for his original co-driver Borja Rozada. Adrien Fourmaux continues alongside Gus Greensmith within the M-Sport Ford line-up following his impressive debut efficiency in Croatia. Ending the World Rally Automobile crews are the fourth Toyota driver Takamoto Katsuta and 2C Competition Hyundai driver Pierre-Louis Loubet, who moreover welcomes a brand original co-driver with Florian Haut-Labourdette.

FIA WRC2 substances an extremely stable 12-automobile entry for Rally Portugal, with the championship leader Andreas Mikkelsen in his Toksport Škoda Fabia Evo to face opponents from reasonably heaps of famed names love Esapekka Lappi (Movisport Volkswagen Polo GTI), Mads Østberg (TRT Citroën C3) and Teemu Suninen (M-Sport Ford WRT Fiesta Mk II). Hyundai Motorsport N’s Oliver Solberg joins teammate Ole Christian Veiby, as properly as fellow younger weapons Marco Bulacia (Toksport Škoda Fabia Evo), Nikolay Gryazin (Movisport VW Polo GTI) and Tom Kristensson (M-Sport Ford Fiesta Mk II) in motion. Eric Camilli (Sports actions & You Citroën C3), Martin Prokop (M-Sport Ford) and Georg Linnamäe (ALM Motorsport Citroën C3) entire the class line-up.

Amongst a complete entry checklist of 81 autos, 25 are entered in FIA WRC3, in conjunction with positive aspects leader Yohan Rossel from France and Croatia winner Kajetan Kajetanowicz from Poland. Spaniards Jan Solans and Pepe Lopez, Chile’s Alberto Heller and Emilio Fernandez, plus Irishman Josh McErlean, will get their season debut. A complete of 11 Portuguese crews within the class fluctuate from local stars love Armindo Araújo and Bruno Magalhães to newcomer André Villas-Boas – the old Chelsea and Tottenham football manager.

Big Britain’s Jon Armstrong heads the eight-automobile FIA Junior WRC subject after winning the opening spherical in Croatia. Latvian driver There’s a 9-level gap between him and Martin Sesks in 2d state, whereas Sami Pajari from Finland is most attention-grabbing one level some distance off from Sesks within the most contemporary standings. They is also all competing on the Portuguese stages in identical Ford Fiesta Rally4 autos.


With twenty stages and 337.51 aggressive kilometres, Rally Portugal ceaselessly is the longest of the season to this level. After Shakedown on Thursday morning, the crews head south for a ceremonial birth up in Coimbra sooner than the opening day on Friday, concentrated spherical Arganil. This set aside, which returned to the rally in 2019, will host two loops of three stages with out a midday service. The Mortágua check, final bustle 20 years ago, and Lousada huge special stage spherical out the day. Saturday takes state mostly within the Cabreira mountains north-east of Porto, with three stages each bustle twice, plus a brand original avenue stage shut to Porto. A complete of 5 stages will atomize the rally on Sunday, in conjunction with one other returning sign in Felguieras and two passes of the notorious Fafe and its iconic jump – the latter bustle serving as the rally-ending Wolf Strength Stage.


Media accreditation and attendance is precisely managed with modified terms under COVID-19 regulations. All attendees are required to conform to the COVID protocol as outlined by the event organisers (please talk to Bulletin 1 – see the Virtual Peek Board within the Competitors piece on the event web set aside).

Media accreditation needs to be nonetheless for my piece by permitted Cross Holders at the Accreditation Desk, located reverse to the EXPONOR indispensable entrance:

Exponor Feira Global create Porto, Av. Dr Antonio Macedo, 574, 4454-515 Leça da Palmeira, Matosinhos (GPS: 41°11.972′ N – 8°41.535 W)

The gap hours are:

Tuesday, Would possibly possibly possibly merely 18:  14: 00 – 19: 00

Wednesday, Would possibly possibly possibly merely 19: 08: 00 – 20: 00

Thursday, Would possibly possibly possibly merely 20:  08: 00 – 20: 00

Friday, Would possibly possibly possibly merely 21:   08: 00 – 13: 00


Wednesday, Would possibly possibly possibly merely 19  
Valuable media safety briefing via video conference (particulars TBC) 17: 00 hrs
Thursday, Would possibly possibly possibly merely 20  
Shakedown for P1 drivers, Paredes 09: 00 – 10: 30 hrs
Shakedown for P2, P3; P4 drivers, Paredes 10: 30 – 12: 30 hrs
Shakedown for non-precedence drivers, Paredes 12: 30 – 14: 00 hrs
FIA Press Conference, via video conference (particulars TBC) 13: 30 hrs
– FIA WRC 13: 30 hrs
– FIA WRC2 13: 40 hrs
– FIA WRC3 13: 50 hrs
– FIA Junior WRC 14: 00 hrs
Ceremonial birth up, Coimbra 20: 30 hrs
Friday, Would possibly possibly possibly merely 21  
Open of the rally (Allotment 1), Coimbra 06: 50 hrs
First automobile arrives for media zone, technical zone & service (TC8A), SP 19: 50 hrs
Saturday, Would possibly possibly possibly merely 22  
Open of Allotment 4, Exponor Carrier Park 06: 15 hrs
First automobile arrives for MZ, regroup, tech. zone & service (TC11A), SP 12: 05 hrs
First automobile arrives for media zone, technical zone & service (TC15A), SP 19: 23 hrs
Sunday, Would possibly possibly possibly merely 23  
Open of Allotment 6, Exponor Carrier Park 05: 45 hrs
First automobile arrives for media zone after having checked in at TC20D, SP 14: 20 hrs
Podium Ceremony & Tag Giving, Matosinhos 15: 45 hrs (approx.)
FIA Press Conference, via video conference (particulars TBC) 16: 30 hrs (TBC)


Thursday, Would possibly possibly possibly merely 20 FIA WRC
  Toyota Gazoo Racing WRT – Sébastien Ogier (FRA)
  Hyundai Shell Mobis WRT – Dani Sordo (ESP)
  M-Sport Ford WRT – Adrien Fourmaux (FRA)
  Toksport WRT – Andreas Mikkelsen (NOR), Škoda Fabia Evo
  Movisport – Esapekka Lappi (FIN), Volkswagen Polo GTI
  TRT World Rally Crew – Mads Østberg (NOR), Citroën C3
  Hyundai Motorsport N – Oliver Solberg (SWE), Hyundai NG i20
  Nicolas Ciamin (FRA)
  Armindo Araujo (PRT)
  André Villas-Boas (PRT)
  FIA Junior WRC
  Jon Armstrong (GBR)
  Lauri Joona (FIN)
Sunday, Would possibly possibly possibly merely 23 Winning FIA Junior WRC Championship driver
  Winning FIA WRC3 Championship driver
  Winning FIA WRC2 Championship driver
  Top three drivers within the total classification
  Representative of the winning manufacturer


Toyota Gazoo Racing WRT Sébastien Ogier (FRA) / Julien Ingrassia (FRA) – #1
  Elfyn Evans (GBR) / Scott Martin (GBR) – #33
  Kalle Rovanperä (FIN) / Jonne Halttunen (FIN) – #69
Hyundai Shell Mobis WRT Thierry Neuville (BEL) / Martin Wydaeghe (BEL) – #11
  Ott Tänak (EST) / Martin Järveoja (EST) – #8
  Dani Sordo (ESP) / Borja Rozada (ESP) – #6
M-Sport Ford WRT Adrien Fourmaux (FRA) / Renaud Jamoul (BEL) – #16
  Gus Greensmith (GBR) / Chris Patterson (IRL) – #44

Like it? Share with your friends!

Racing Elite


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *