After main overnight, the Italian crew of the no3 Audi quattro, ‘Zippo’ and Denis Piceno held onto the pinnacle characteristic in the course of the 9 particular stages on the 2nd leg of the 54th Mecsek Rally to clutch their 2nd total victory of the 2021 FIA European Historic Rally Championship.

It wasn’t all gruesome crusing for the Audi crew because the gear stick broke in the course of the third stage of the day and ‘Zippo’ misplaced time caught in gear. The mechanics had been ready to manufacture repairs at the first carrier conclude of the day.

On the kill of the 11th and supreme stage the no3 Audi became as soon as 1m41.6s sooner than the no2 Porsche 911 of Karl Wagner and Gerda Zauner, with the no1 Porsche 911 of Lucio Da Zanche and Matteo Nobili 25.9 seconds in the abet of in third total and Category 4 winners. Da Zanche became as soon as 43.9 seconds sooner than the 2nd positioned Category 4 competitor, the no5 Audi quattro A2 of Ville Silvasti and Risto Pietilainen.

The no6 Opel Kadett of Vojtech Stajf and Vladimir Zelinka finished 5th total and at the pinnacle of the Category 2 discipline.  The Czechs finished 5m09s sooner than the no10 Alfa Romeo GTAM 1750 of Laszlo and Edit Mekler, the Hungarian crew taking 2nd in Category 2 and 7th total 19s in the abet of the Category 4 no12 Ford Sierra Cosworth 4×4 of Alfons Nothdurfter and Juergen Nolte.

There had been several retirements in Category 2 with the no8 Porsche of Maurizio Pagella no longer making the launch after the entrance honest wheel became as soon as ripped off on SS2.  The no14 Ford Escort of Richard and Lucie Ronay suffered a technical failure after the 2nd stage of the 2nd day.

Two of the entrance runners furthermore retired with the no7 Porsche of championship leaders Anders and Ingrid Johnsen had concerns with the gearbox and the no9 Ford Escort of Ernie and Karen Graham suffered suspension failure on SS8.

Antonio Parisi and Giuseppe D’Angelo took their third Category 1 victory of the 2021 season, finishing 12th total, two locations and 5 minutes sooner than the no22 BMW 2002 Ti of Carlo Fiorito and Marina Bertonasco.

The next rally on the 2021 agenda is the Rallye Weiz in Austria on 15-17 July. 

CLICK HERE for the outcomes from Leg 2 of the 54th Mecsek Rally, Spherical 3 of the 2021 FIA European Historic Rally Championship.

Like it? Share with your friends!

Racing Elite


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *