About a of the quickest roads in the FIA World Rally Championship await the crews when the 2021 season strikes into its 2nd half at Rally Estonia on July 15-18.

2020 WRC - Rally Estonia - O. Tänak/M. Järveojä (photo DPPI / F. Flamand)

First escape in 2010, Rally Estonia has grown to vary into the very most attention-grabbing motor sport event in the Baltic topic, and joined the WRC calendar closing year to stage the return to competition following the atomize imposed by the COVID-19 pandemic. It facets high-tempo roads with so much of jumps and crests, mixed with extra technical sections. Due to the the comfy and sandy surface, ruts can in most cases provide an added disclose on the 2nd dash of phases.

Having obtained four of the first six rounds, alongside with the closing Safari Rally in Kenya, Sébastien Ogier leads the standings on the midway stage in his impart for an eighth world title. His revenue lies at 34 aspects over his Toyota crew-mate Elfyn Evans. Within the Hyundai squad, Thierry Neuville is 56 aspects away from the lead while Estonian hero Ott Tänak, a additional eight aspects inspire, will most certainly be a current to repeat his home victory from 2020.

Finland’s Kalle Rovanperä will feel similarly cease to home on Estonia’s high-tempo roads, alongside with his fellow Toyota runt one Takamoto Katsuta looking to repeat a correct consequence following his maiden podium develop in Kenya. Craig Breen, who finished 2nd after Tänak on closing year’s event, returns on the wheel of the third factory Hyundai for the first time since Rally Croatia in April. Teemu Suninen strains up for M-Sport Ford alongside Gus Greensmith, while Pierre-Louis Loubet will most certainly be inspire in scoot in his 2C Compétition-entered Hyundai after missing the day commute to Africa.

FIA WRC2 championship chief Andreas Mikkelsen tops a 10-automobile topic in the category, with competition coming from the likes of Mads Østberg, Adrien Fourmaux and the Hyundai duo of Jari Huttunen and Oliver Solberg. Nikolay Gryazin will head to Rally Estonia glossy from a FIA European Rally Championship victory in the neighbouring Latvia closing week.

Kajetan Kajetanowicz heads a additional 14 crews entered in FIA WRC3, which contains Estonian ace Egon Kaur, who finished 2nd in the category on his closing time out at Arctic Rally Finland in February, and two-time FIA European Rally Champion Alexey Lukyanuk, who will originate his first appearance on the sphere stage in over four years.

Rally Estonia is round three of the FIA Junior WRC season, whereby Latvian driver Mārtiņš Sesks holds a nine-point lead over Finland’s Sami Pajari after worthwhile their old contest in Portugal.


Rally Estonia modifications from three to four days for its 2nd WRC appearance. It is some distance going to delivery out up with a natty particular stage in Tartu next to the Raadi airfield Carrier Park which could kick off the aggressive scoot on Thursday evening after Shakedown takes topic in the morning. Friday’s four phases, all escape twice, feature acquainted names from 2020 but with revised routes: Kanepi will most certainly be escape in the reverse route to closing year. Saturday brings four glossy phases to the WRC, alongside with the longest test of the rally, the 23.56 kilometre Peipsääre. There’s additionally a repeat discuss over with to the Tartu natty particular to round out the day. A trio of repeated phases concludes the rally on Sunday, with the Wolf Vitality Stage finishing on the Carrier Park.


Media accreditation and attendance is strictly managed with modified terms below COVID-19 guidelines. All attendees are required to conform with the COVID protocol as outlined by the event organisers (peep Bulletin 2 on the Virtual Explore Board in the Opponents piece on the event web predicament).

Media accreditation can even still be still for my part by accredited Pass Holders at the Accreditation Desk, positioned on the Media Center on the Eesti Rahva Muuseum (Estonian Nationwide Museum):

Muuseumi tee 2, 60532 Tartu, Estonia (GPS coordinates: N 58° 23.743 E 026° 44.757)

The hole hours are:

Tuesday 13 July: 14h00 – 20h00

Wednesday 14 July: 08h00 – 20h00

Thursday 15 July: 08h00 – 20: 00

Friday 16 July: 08h00 – 14h00


Wednesday 14 July  
Wanted media safety briefing by skill of video convention (facts TBC) 17: 00 hrs
Family photo with P1 crews (drivers & codrivers), Tartu City Hall 19: 30 hrs
Drivers parade, from Tartu City Hall 20: 00 hrs
Thursday 15 July  
Shakedown for P1 & invited drivers, SD Abissaare 09: 00 – 11: 00 hrs
Shakedown for all Precedence drivers, SD Abissaare 11: 00 – 13: 00 hrs
Shakedown for all drivers, SD Abissaare 13: 00 – 15: 00 hrs
FIA Press Conference, by skill of video convention (facts TBC) 14: 30 hrs
– FIA WRC 14: 30 hrs
– FIA WRC2 14: 40 hrs
– FIA WRC3 14: 50 hrs
– FIA Junior WRC 15: 00 hrs
Opening ceremonial and rally delivery up, Podium, Raadi airfield 20: 00 hrs
First automobile arrives for media zone & Parc Fermé, Raadi (TC1A) 20: 51 hrs
Friday 16 July  
Originate of Piece 2, Raadi Carrier Park 08: 02 hrs
First automobile arrives for media zone, tech. zone & service (TC5A), Raadi SP 13: 08 hrs
First automobile arrives for media zone, tech. zone, & service (TC9A), Raadi SP 19: 08 hrs
Saturday 17 July  
Originate of Piece 4, Raadi Carrier Park 07: 03 hrs
First automobile arrives for MZ, regroup, tech. zone & service (TC13A), Raadi SP 13: 08 hrs
First automobile arrives for media zone, technical zone & service (TC18A), SP 20: 20 hrs
Sunday 18 July  
Originate of Piece 6, Raadi Carrier Park 05: 53 hrs
Media zone at some stage in Podium retaining (TC24A) – for HD media only 14: 32 hrs
Podium Ceremony & Note Giving, Raadi airfield 15: 20 hrs
FIA Press Conference, by skill of video convention (facts TBC) 16: 45 hrs


Thursday 15 July FIA WRC
  Toyota Gazoo Racing WRT – Elfyn Evans (GBR)
  Hyundai Shell Mobis WRT – Ott Tänak (EST)
  M-Sport Ford WRT – Teemu Suninen (FIN)
  TRT WRT – Mads Ostberg (NOR), Citroën C3
  ALM Motorsport – Georg Linnamäe (EST), Volkswagen Polo GTI
  Kajetan Kajetanowicz (POL)
  Egon Kaur (EST)
  FIA Junior WRC
  Robert Virves (EST)
  Martin Sesks (LVA)
Sunday 18 July A success FIA Junior WRC Championship driver
  A success FIA WRC3 Championship driver
  A success FIA WRC2 Championship driver
  Prime three drivers in the final classification
  Representative of the worthwhile manufacturer


Toyota Gazoo Racing WRT Sébastien Ogier (FRA) / Julien Ingrassia (FRA) – #1
  Elfyn Evans (GBR) / Scott Martin (GBR) – #33
  Kalle Rovanperä (FIN) / Jonne Halttunen (FIN) – #69
Hyundai Shell Mobis WRT Thierry Neuville (BEL) / Martijn Wydaeghe (BEL) – #11
  Ott Tänak (EST) / Martin Järveoja (EST) – #8
  Craig Breen (IRL) / Paul Nagle (IRL) – #42
M-Sport Ford WRT Gus Greensmith (GBR) / Chris Patterson (IRL) – #44
  Teemu Suninen (FIN) / Mikko Markkula (FIN) – #3

Like it? Share with your friends!

Racing Elite


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *