The no104 Ford Sierra Cosworth 4×4 of Daniel Alonso Villaron and Candido Carrera Estevez accomplished the 2nd day on the top of the Rallye Weiz chief board to extend their championship lead in Category 4. 

The Spanish duo accomplished 52.5 seconds earlier than the no101 Audi quattro of ‘Zippo’ and Denis Piceno, the Italians re-becoming a member of the rally with a time penalty that place them in 17th overall after the gasoline considerations that saw them retire from SS6 on day 1.

The Audi took the fastest time on all eight stages on Day 2 to leapfrog up the standings and lift out 2nd overall and get Category 3, their 4th victory in four events.

Alonso and Carrera also had their considerations, with the Ford suffering a broken turbo that the mechanics had to work exhausting to repair. 

The no106 Porsche 911 RSR of Anders and Ingrid Johnsen turned into pushing exhausting and fleet took the final lead of the rally after SS11 sooner than Alonso re-established his lead a stage later.

The Swedes had been leading Category 2 however didn’t delivery the fourteenth and closing stage with an unspecified technical defect.  This place Paolo Pasutti and Giovanni Campeis in the no109 Porsche Carrera RS into the Category 2 lead, the Italians finishing the rally in third overall.

2d living in Category 4 went to the no110 Ford Sierra Cosworth 4×4 of Alfons Nothdurfter and Jurgen Nolte, the Austro-German pairing finishing in 4th overall 3m02.6 in the motivate of Alonso’s Ford and effectively earlier than the third living Category finisher, Ermanno Sordi and Samuele Sordelli in the no118 Porsche 911 SC RS.

After failing to retain out in the Czech Republic and in Hungary, Ernie and Karen Graham returned to the podium by finishing 2nd in Category 2 and 5th overall 1m29.6s in the motivate of Pasutti’s class leading Porsche.  Laszlo and Edit Mekler accomplished 3rdin Category 2 of their no107 Alfa Romeo GTAM 1750 in 9th overall.

The 2nd FIA EHRC Category 3 finisher turned into the no116 Volvo 244 of Siegfried and Renate Meyr, the Germans finishing in 10th overall 10m08.3s in the motivate of the final winner.

There had been several retirements on Day 2 of the Rallye Weiz.  Ville Silvasti and Risto Pietilainen also rejoined the rally after suffering gasoline considerations on Day 1 however the no105 Audi quattro S2 had further considerations on Day 2 and retired after the major stage of the day.

The no115 VW Golf of Georg Reitsperger and Lana Sutlovic retired with a technical disaster in the morning, as did the no117 BMW 2002 Ti of Michael Putz and Elisabeth Trimmel.

The following rally on the 2021 FIA European Historic Rally Championship is the Lahti Historic Rally in Finland on the 12-14 August.

CLICK HERE for the final result from Day 2 of the Rallye Weiz

Like it? Share with your friends!

Racing Elite


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *