Baja Espana Aragon – Spherical 5 of the FIA World Cup for Substandard-Country Bajas and the opening round of the FIA European Cup for Substandard-Country Bajas

Nasser Al-Attiyah and Mathieu Baumel claimed their third Baja España Aragón victory collectively after a shut-fought speed to the create of the fifth round of the FIA World Cup for Substandard-Country Bajas and the opening occasion in the newly-created FIA European Cup for Substandard-Country Bajas. Finishing 2d, Mattias Ekström and Emil Bergkvist notched up their ideal lead to an FIA irascible-nation World Cup occasion while Yazeed Al-Rajhi and Michael Orr added precious ingredients to their tally with third total.

The Qatari/French pairing of Al-Attiyah and Baumel bought off to a helpful launch on the day gone by’s 180 kilometre selective portion, the Toyota Hilux Overdrive crew appropriate one 2d adrift of stage winner, Sébastien Loeb. This day, alternatively, they reigned supreme and took victory in each and each SS2 and SS3 to face on the highest step of the rostrum with a four minute and 40 2d advantage.

Ekström and Bergkvist were cautious in the opening stage, wary of picking up punctures, however the Swedes light notched up third on the stage in the MINI All-4 Racing. This day, fifth fastest in the principle 112 kilometre portion, followed by 2d total in the closing and longest stage, became sufficient to pass them up into 2d total following Loeb’s considerations.

Al-Rajhi and Orr held fourth after the opening leg and, no matter shedding some time in SS2, the Dubai Global Baja winners fought to the create and third quickest by procedure of the supreme 208 kilometre portion elevated them from fifth to third, making it a 1-3 for the Overdrive personnel.

Upright 35 seconds extra adrift in fourth were the Portuguese crew of Tiago Reis and Valter Cardoso in any other Toyota Hilux. The duo were in the thick of the battle and performed appropriate 18 seconds sooner than more than one Baja España Aragón winner, Nani Roma. The Spaniard, navigated by Alex Haro in the Prodrive Hunter, dropped time in SS1 with a puncture and some brake components, however fourth fastest by procedure of the supreme portion moved them one plight up the leaderboard and into fifth.

The Dutch/French pairing of Erik Van Loon and Sébastien Delaunay rounded out the highest six. Sébastien Loeb and original Belgian co-driver Fabian Lurquin ran competitively from the outset, the crew taking the principle stage recall for the Prodrive Hunter on Friday no matter about a shrimp navigation errors and a puncture. Third in the 2d portion dropped them on the advantage of Al-Attiyah in the total standings, by appropriate over a minute, and the wrestle for victory went into the supreme stage. They had a extensive speed by procedure of the portion, till they were struck with energy steering components, as successfully as a puncture, shedding them nearly 12 minutes and from a doable recall to seventh.

João Ramos/Felipe Palmeiro performed eighth, sooner than Alejandro Martina and José Marques. João Ferreira and David Monteiro claimed the supreme ingredients in the total top 10. 

The T4 category became won by South Racing’s Alexandre and Pedro Re. The Portuguese BRP Can-Am Maverick crew won two of the three sections to head personnel-mates Mshari Al Thefiri and Nasser Al Kuwari by appropriate over nine minutes. Molly Taylor, making her debut in irascible-nation, performed fifth in the category with Dennis Zenz alongside her. T3 became claimed by Roberto and Herman Rodriquez in any other Can-Am. The Spaniards won all three phases to advise a 12 minute and 46 2d advantage over Frenchmen Ronald Basso and Jean Pierre Garcin. Catie Munnings, navigated by Frenchman Francois Cazalet, performed fifth in the category on her first irascible-nation occasion.

The sixth round of the FIA World Cup for Substandard-Country Bajas, and the 2d round of the FIA European Cup for Substandard-Country Bajas, takes the contenders to the Hungarian Baja (August 5-8).

Baja España Aragón – Closing Classification


Nasser Al-Attiyah/Mathieu Baumel

Toyota Hilux Overdrive

6hr 32min 44sec


Mattias Ekström/Emil Bergkvist

MINI All-4 Racing

6hr 37min 24sec


Yazeed Al Rajhi/Michael Orr

Toyota Hilux Overdrive

6hr 38min 59sec


Tiago Reis/Valter Cardoso

Toyota Hilux Overdrive

6hr 39min 34sec


Nani Roma/Alex Haro

Prodrive Hunter

6hr 39min 52sec


Erik Van Loon/Sébastien Delaunay

Toyota Hilux Overdrive

6hr 44min 25sec


Sébastien Loeb/Fabian Lurquin

Prodrive Hunter

6hr 44min 36sec


João Ramos/Filipe Palmeiro

Toyota Hilux

6hr 46min 57sec


Alejandro Martins/José Marques

MINI John Cooper Works Rally

6hr 53min 16sec


João Ferreira/David Monteiro

Toyota Hilux Overdrive

6hr 57min 17sec

Like it? Share with your friends!

Racing Elite


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *