The FIA World Rally Championship resumes with round ten of the 2019 season.

Round 10 of the 2019 FIA World Rally Championship takes the crews back onto tarmac for Rallye Deutschland (22-25 August), an event known for its demanding roads and often changeable weather conditions. 

First run in 1982, it was part of the FIA European Rally Championship before becoming Germany’s round of the WRC in 2002. Although the rally base moved from Trier to Bostalsee two years ago, it has remained faithful to a popular formula combining twisty vineyard roads above the Mosel river, the varied and sometimes broken surfaces of the Baumholder military ground, and fast country lanes of the Saarland region. 

Winner of the last two editions, Ott Tänak could target a hat trick to further increase his championship lead, which grew to 22 points after the triumph of the Toyota driver on the last round in Finland. His rivals Sébastien Ogier (Citroën) and Thierry Neuville (Hyundai) – who are separated by just three points – are also both former winners of the event, opening up the prospect of a thrilling, flat-out battle between the trio.

With Elfyn Evans continuing to recover from a back injury, Gus Greensmith gets another top-level start with M-Sport. After skipping Finland, Rally Sardinia’s winner Dani Sordo returns to the Hyundai line-up alongside Neuville and Andreas Mikkelsen. Meanwhile, Toyota offers its Japanese protégé Takamoto Katsuta his first WRC outing in a Yaris – entered by Tommi Mäkinen Racing – after several impressive demonstrations in FIA WRC 2.

FIA WRC 2 Pro leader Kalle Rovanperä has four consecutive class wins under his belt but the Finn will face stiff competition in Germany, from his Škoda team-mate and asphalt expert Jan Kopecký, as well as Citroën’s Mads Østberg and Eric Camilli, competing in M-Sport’s latest Ford Fiesta R5. 

Fresh from his maiden win in Finland, Russia’s Nikolay Gryazin heads a strong 15-car entry in the FIA WRC 2, which includes the French trio Adrien Fourmaux, Nicolas Ciamin and Stéphane Lefebvre, and the German pair Marijan Griebel and Fabian Kreim.


This year’s Rallye Deutschland begins with a new twist, as the 5.2 kilometre “St. Wendeler Land” Shakedown is then run again on Thursday evening as the first competitive stage. Friday’s loop consists of a pair of vineyard stages, plus the Wadern-Weikirchen circuit test, with all three run twice. Saturday’s format offers two Saarland country lane stages to be run twice in the morning, ahead of two loops around Baumholder in the afternoon. On Sunday, the rally returns to the vineyards for another pair of repeated stages to conclude the event.


Total distance: 1’228.23 km
Stage distance: 344.04 km (28%)
Number of stages: 19


The Accreditation Centre is located in the Media Center in the Bostalsee Service Park (Am Seehafen, D-66625 Nohfelden-Bosen).

The opening hours are: 

Tuesday 20 August 14:00 – 18:00 hrs
Wednesday 21 August 08:00 – 21:00 hrs
Thursday 22 August 08:00 – 18:00 hrs
Friday 23 August 08:00 – 14:00 hrs


Wednesday 21 August  
Mandatory media safety briefing, Photographers’ Room, Media Center 17:00 hrs
Thursday 22 August   
Mandatory shakedown for P1 & P2P, St Wendeler Land 10:00 – 11:30 hrs
Shakedown for all Priority drivers (P1, P2P, P2, R-GT), St Wendeler Land 11:30 – 13:30 hrs
Shakedown (others), St Wendeler Land 13:30 – 15:30 hrs
‘Meet the Crews’ Top 3 Shakedown, WRC stage, Bostalsee Service Park 14:00 hrs
FIA Press Conference, Press Room, Media Center, Bostalsee SP 14:30 hrs
Rally opening ceremony, Bostalsee SP 18:00 – 18:30 hrs
including autograph signing session for P1 & P2P crews  
Start of the rally (section 1), Bostalsee Service SP 18:45 hrs
Friday 23 August  
Start of Section 2, Bostalsee SP 09:00 hrs
First car arrives for regroup, media zone & service, Bostalsee SP 13:33 hrs
First car arrives for regroup, media zone & final service, Bostalsee SP 19:01 hrs
‘Meet the Crews’ post-Leg 1, WRC stage, Bostalsee SP During the 48’ service
Saturday 24 August  
Start of Section 4, Bostalsee SP 07:15 hrs
Regroup, St Wendel 09:59 hrs
First car arrives for regroup, media zone & service, Bostalsee SP 13:16 hrs
First car arrives for media zone, regroup & final service, Bostalsee SP 17:11 hrs
‘Meet the Crews’ post-Leg 2, WRC stage, Bostalsee SP During the 48’ service
Sunday 25 August  
Start of Section 8, Bostalsee SP 06:20 hrs
Regroup, Morbach 08:41 hrs
Regroup, Morbach 11:05 hrs
Rally finish, Bostalsee SP 13:33 hrs
Podium Ceremony & Price Giving, Bostalsee SP approx. 14:00 hrs
FIA Press Conference, Press Room, Media Center, Bostalsee SP 14:45 hrs


Thursday 22 August FIA WRC 
  Ott Tänak (EST), Toyota Gazoo Racing WRT
  Sébastien Ogier (FRA), Citroën Total WRT
  Thierry Neuville (BEL), Hyundai Shell Mobis WRT
  Gus Greensmith (GBR), M-Sport Ford WRT
  Takamoto Katsuta (JAP), Tommi Mäkinen Racing
  Jan Kopecký (CZE), Škoda Motorsport
  Mads Østberg (NOR), Citroën Total
  Kajetan Kajetanowicz (POL)
  Marijan Griebel (DEU)
Sunday 25 August Winning FIA WRC 2 Pro Championship crew
  Winning FIA WRC 2 Championship crew
  Top three crews in the overall classification
  Representative of the winning manufacturer


Hyundai Shell Mobis WRT Thierry Neuville / Nicolas Gilsoul (#11)
  Andreas Mikkelsen / Anders Jaeger-Amland (#89)
  Dani Sordo / Carlos Del Barrio (#6)
Toyota Gazoo Racing WRT Ott Tänak / Martin Järveoja (#8)
  Kris Meeke / Sebastian Marshall (#5)
  Jari-Matti Latvala / Miikka Anttila (#10)
Citroën Total WRT Sébastien Ogier / Julien Ingrassia (#1)
  Esapekka Lappi / Janne Ferm (#4)
M-Sport Ford WRT Teemu Suninen / Jarmo Lehtinen (#3)
  Gus Greensmith / Elliott Edmondson (#33)

Like it? Share with your friends!



Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *