2020 WRC - Rallye Monte-Carlo - T. Neuville / N. Gilsoul (DPPI)

Thierry Neuville leads Rallye Monte-Carlo for Hyundai after a unheard of time in tricky prerequisites within the second of two night time phases to kick off the 2020 WRC season.

After polishing off the ceremonial originate in Monaco’s picturesque harbour, the crews took on the checks in darkness, competing over virtually 43 kilometres through the Southern French Alps sooner than arriving at the Service Park in Gap.

Neuville was most constructive fourth fastest within the outlet stage within the lend a hand of Sébastien Ogier, Ott Tänak and Elfyn Evans because the trio settled in impulsively to their novel cars on the critical dry asphalt take a look at.

However the Belgian delivered a sensational efficiency on snow and ice within the second stage, going 25.5 seconds sooner than Toyota driver Ogier to function the night time with a lead of 19.1s. Tänak is third for Hyundai, six seconds within the lend a hand of Ogier and merely 0.3s in entrance of Evans.

Sébastien Loeb is fifth sooner than M-Sport Ford’s easiest-positioned driver Esapekka Lappi. The Fiesta squad was hampered by overheating concerns within the critical stage introduced on by leaves blockading the radiator. Lappi’s crew-mate Teemu Suninen dropped out in stage two with a transmission train. In his first stage within the WRC’s high stage, 19-yr-outmoded Kalle Rovanperä – the youngest ever fleshy-time manufacturing facility driver within the championship’s ancient past – was fifth fastest sooner than seven-time Monte winner Loeb, and done the night time in seventh place.

FIA WRC 3 entrant Eric Camilli is eighth total, one second sooner than WRC 2 leader Mads Østberg on a Citroën.

2020 Rallye Monte-Carlo – Unofficial outcomes after Allotment 1

1. Thierry Neuville (BEL) / Nicolas Gilsoul (BEL) Hyundai i20 Coupe WRC 26min 23.5sec
2. Sébastien Ogier (FRA) / Julien Ingrassia (FRA) Toyota Yaris WRC 26min 42.6sec
3. Ott Tänak (EST) / Martin Järveoja (EST)                          Hyundai i20 Coupe WRC 26min 48.6sec
4. Elfyn Evans (GBR) / Scott Martin (GBR) Toyota Yaris WRC 26min 48.9sec
5. Sébastien Loeb (FRA) / Daniel Elena (MNC) Hyundai i20 Coupe WRC 27min 14.5sec
6. Esapekka Lappi (FIN) / Janne Ferm (FIN) Ford Fiesta WRC 27min 31.3sec
7. Kalle Rovanperä (FIN) / Jonne Halttunen (FIN) Toyota Yaris WRC 27min 42.0sec
8. Eric Camilli (FRA) / F. Buresi (FRA) – FIA WRC3 Citroën C3 28min 22.1sec
9. Mads Østberg (NOR) / Torstein Eriksen (NOR) Citroën C3 28min 23.1sec
10. Stéphane Sarrazin (FRA) / Sufficient. Guardian (FRA) Hyundai NG i20 28min 43.1sec

Like it? Share with your friends!



Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *