Vettel has now amassed a total of 24 penalty points for 10 separate offences. Verstappen and Grosjean have scored 21 each.

Like Vettel, Grosjean has contested every season under the penalty points system. The others are Lewis Hamilton (six points), Daniel Ricciardo (seven), Kimi Raikkonen (10), Valtteri Bottas (12) and Nico Hulkenberg (14).

No Formula 1 driver has ever reached 12 penalty points within a 12-month period, which would result in an automatic one-race ban. Vettel is on nine points for the current period.

He is not due to have any penalty points deducted until October 20th. Therefore if Vettel earns three penalty points over the next three races in Singapore, Russia and Japan, he will incur a one-race ban.

The scenes if Vettel got a ban

Like it? Share with your friends!



Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *